Bittersweet Goodbye :)

20140529-111853-40733511.jpg

Another chapter of my life has recently ended and that simply implies another new beginning for the forthcoming chapter. College would be the most life-changing event of my life. It taught me a lot of indispensable life lessons and it molded me to an independent individual whose wise enough which responsibilities should be the priority. It developed us to adopt the ‘can-do attitude’ that no matter how excruciatingly nerve-wrecking the tasks-at-hand are, nothing could keep us from successfully fulfilling it.

Going back in high school, I never had a plan of going to which university because back then, all I thought of were Korean and Japanese dramas and anything associated with the word FUN. I never once planned where would I go after high school graduation and what course should I take. All I knew was that I have been destined to study in Silliman University in Dumaguete City where all of the members of the family in my father’s side had a taste of education. I mean, no one would ever bid farewell to their academic lives unless they’ve been to Silliman — that’s the ‘family tradition’. Since I, on the other hand, had no clear direction of which path to take, I thought, “well, why not? After all, it’s a good university”. Also, back then, I know no other university other than Silliman and the local community colleges in our place though I took random entrance exams of any university that markets themselves in our campus. So imagine the mixed emotion I got when I passed the UPCAT. Wow, that was it. The university that could match Siliman’s credibility and serves as my ticket to spending four years of college independently in the metro.

It was incredibly difficult to decide which path to take. It would absolutely define the my future much more the life I’m going to live. It took a lot of persuasion especially to Dad who was at the time, working in Canada. It was basically hard for him to let go of my opportunity to study in the University of the Philippines and at the same time let go of the family tradition of studying in Siliman. The decision process became more complicated when I went to UP Cebu and had a ‘not-so-welcoming’ vibes from the OSA department regarding my application for the STFAP which we thought was not optional and part of the enrollment process. I tried to convince Dad to allow me to enroll in University of San Carlos but it seems like I’m only given two options — UP or SU. So yea, I took a leap of faith and conquered the overly chaotic enrollment procedures of UP Cebu. The rest then became history. Now, here I am. A certified Iskolar ng Bayan who wore her very own hard-earned Sablay last April 30, 2014 with none other my ever favorite Senator Miriam Defensor-Santiago as the commencement speaker. That was probably the best moment of my life that elapsed like a blur, thank God there are video cameras that recorded every moment of it.

20140529-112134-40894639.jpg

One thing that everyone reminds us is that we are the graduates of UP, an iskolar ng bayan. And we have a lot of opportunities open for us not to enhance our lives but to act for the betterment of the society whom we are indebted for the subsidized tuition we received.

There will definitely be a lot of memories I’m going to miss. Waking up 30 minutes before classes starts and scrambling myself to be in class within the 15-minute grace period, eating brunch or sometimes bruncher (breakfast+lunch+dinner) all-in-one because we don’t have the luxury of time to do so and the list continuos indefinitely. But the most highlighted of all that I guess every Isko and Iska could relate is staying up until midnight just to wait for the ever-so-frustrating CRSIS to enlist subjects and end up actually not saving a slot because the system won’t allow you due to some technical difficulties. And much more the prolonged agonies and nervousness in checking out our CRSIS accounts every end of the semester to see our grades whether we passed or fail. Nothing could ever beat the overwhelming feeling of passing a disastrous subject much more the ecstasy of knowing you qualified as a college scholar.

Being a Management student have perks of its own especially having an adviser as cool and awesome as Madame Busano. Who could ever forget the long lines for enrollment consultation and strictly following your schedule or else you are tasked to submit a letter for reconsideration for assessment. She may be as strict and meticulous as that but she’s the most loving, caring and understanding adviser I’d ever have. I may have taken her for granted especially during class discussions but that doesn’t lessen the respect and admiration I have for her for being an outstanding adviser. And oh! Corporate mondays and case presentations! Geez, girl problems —– The dilemma of thinking what to wear during those days. I’m not the fashionista-kind-of-girl so I don’t have endless supply of those corporate attire.
And speaking of case studies, the literally sleepless nights, stinky days and internal conflicts over solving those tricky and complicated case problems will never be forgotten. How much more the strategic ninja moves in printing procrastinated requirements by having “paper-relay” with groupmates ready to run in different designated ‘stations’ from the GP rooms to Computerun.

Because of the numerous lessons I’ve learned in UP, I can’t remember anything to post here. Nyahaha kidding! Anyway, I’ll simply share my secret to surpassing all the academic hurdles I’ve been to in UP. Hard work and perseverance are one of the key ingredients but nothing beats the intensity of God’s word in inspiring and motivating me to continue, move forward and never ever give up cos nothing is impossible. Here are the verses that I always keep in mind especially before every presentation and exam.

If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you. (James 1:5 NIV)

The Lord will open the heavens, the storehouse of his bounty, to send rain on your land in season and to bless all the work of your hands. You will lend to many nations but will borrow from none. The Lord will make you the head, not the tail. If you pay attention to the commands of the Lord your God that I give you this day and carefully follow them, you will always be at the top, never at the bottom. (Deuteronomy 28:12, 13 NIV)

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. (Jeremiah 29:11 NIV)

Being a follower of Christ doesn’t exempt you from troubles, challenges and difficulties. It simply gives you a ticket to have the confidence to surpass these struggles with your faith in God and by holding on to His promises.

Blessed to have an awesome God who helped me throughout my 4 years in college. Indeed, having God doesn’t mean I will never face any challenges. Instead, it meant that I’m stronger than I used to be because I have the ever powerful God who’s my strength when I am weak.

About missrandoom

I'm into photography but I'm a no pro. Capturing the best things life has to offer is my hobby. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

